LOVING FROM A DISTANCE

This topic will be more of my personal side and this topic which has been very near and dear to me lately is “loving those from a distance”. Why? Because I’m at the point of my life where I’m seriously getting rid of the dead weight. Whether that be relationships or situationships….. they gotta go.

I can say that it’s been quite liberating, but right now I’m focusing on me, myself and I.

Let me tell ya’ll why. After this summer, I will be a graduating senior in December and of course, my life is about to have some MAJOR changes. I can say that I’m not the least bit prepared, but I’m working on it! And with that being said, I had to remove some obstacles from my path.

So, the first step to this was….. cut ties with some people. Like completely. I don’t converse or hang out with the same group of people and it indeed is refreshing. You know how the saying goes, “birds of a feather flock together”? I had to leave that flock. Now, of course it wasn’t on some “f*ck them” type stuff….. but as I like to call it…. Loving them from a distance. I’m not the type of person to just drop people and not care for them after. Trust me. I want people to succeed from there on, like I really wish the best for them! Believe it or not, I’m a pretty genuine-hearted person no matter the circumstances.

Another thing I’m currently working on is a social media cleanse. Now, to be honest the only reason I’m still on there now is because I’m out of school and I be bored lol. BUT, once school starts back and I’m still working my two part-time jobs, baaabbyyyyy I’m focusing on graduation so I can get up outta there! But ya’ll know I gotta peek on there during homecoming of course! So yeah, I’m first probably gonna delete some people from there as well and then delete the apps from my phone. I’m Greek, I can handle being off social media for a little bit. *insert shade moon here*

What’s helped me during this time? God, first and foremost. Keeping faith in everything I do and knowing that he wouldn’t have wanted the same habits going on for me. And since then I can say that lately things have been going a lot smoother for me. Funny how God works right? Also, focusing on what I want and how imma get it. Simple. I try not to be stressed with it all (even though I totally am and I stay in denial) but me working hard is keeping me up. This past semester/year has been a whirlwind for me for various reasons and I realized that I just can’t deal with the same stuff! So I decided to take a step FORWARD and leave some people and habits alone. What’s also a big help is my support system that I just have to give a shout out to! Those people that constantly lift me up and check on me and just mean well, they are the people I decide to keep around because they’re what you call “good company”, like ya mama and ‘nem say.

So, with all of this being said, if you’re going through the same thing as me or you want to move forward in your life, say what you want to do and don’t hesitate… just do it like Nike! Live your life! *cues Golden by Jill Scott* I promise you, it’ll feel like a breath of fresh air. Hope I encouraged someone today. #message

 

With Love,

Meagan G.

2 Comments

  1. It amazes me how I can think that I am the only person going through this same scenario. Meagan, Meagan, Meagan… your post has empowered me to continue to eliminate the so-called friends and dead weight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

