What Are You Running From?

While I would consider myself to be a reasonably fit person, there is one form of exercise I just cannot stand, and it’s RUNNING. I have always considered it pointless to be hurrying in the direction of nothing in particular just for the sake of doing so, plus your girl has asthma so, LET. ME. LIVE. Needless to say, you won’t catch me at many marathons, because I do another type of running in life; and to be honest, you probably do it too.

I am a master of many things, and procrastination is one of them. Procrastination is one of the most dangerous and detrimental habits that we as young people can have because it leads to laziness, it isn’t fruitful, and it gives way to distractions. I can’t tell you how many of my problems would have been solved if I had just done what I was supposed to do in the first place. For sure, my room would be cleaner, my GPA would be higher, and my email inbox would be a lot emptier. We all love to joke on Twitter about waiting until the last minute to start things, and I am certainly no different. I have used every single excuse under the sun to put off things that I should be getting out of the way. In fact, I could write a book on it, but I’ll do it later.

Since I’m here to keep it all the way real, put your feelings in your back pocket and follow along with me.

If procrastination was a Bible character’s middle name, it would be my man Jonah. If you aren’t familiar with the story of Jonah, allow me to paraphrase the high points for you:

God told Jonah to go to a place called Nineveh, and Jonah wasn’t really feeling it, so he said “nah.” Instead Jonah hopped in a boat and headed in the opposite direction, God was like, “oh really?” and caused a storm. They threw Jonah off the boat, and my man ends up in his feelings in the belly of a fish. In a couple of days, the fish eventually spits him out in NINEVEH of all places. Then he ends up doing what God told him to do in the first place.

That’s basically the bulk of the story, or at least the part we are going to talk about. Because while procrastination may seem harmless now, you’re not just innocently wasting time scrolling on the gram. When you put off the things you have to, or are destined to do, you are extending your own hardships and putting God’s plan for you on hold. Imagine how productive you would be, if you did everything as quickly as you answer that 2am “You up?” text. (I can say that ‘cause I’m guilty too!) If we are being honest, procrastination is just you running in the direction of nothing in particular, wasting your own time because you aren’t ready to do what you have to do. It robs you of your time and energy and gives you back nothing in return.

It’s one thing to procrastinate on a school or work assignment, but it is a complete other thing to procrastinate on assignment you have from God. I’ve been there, so I can tell you, it wont get you anywhere. Procrastinating on something God is truly calling you to do is far from innocent; it is a conscious decision to choose something pointless over God and His promise, and it ain’t gonna work for long. Case and point, for weeks God has been telling me to write this down, not so much for you guys, but for myself. Instead, I ignored it and wrote “Summer Investments” because that was what I wanted to do, and I haven’t been able to sleep right since. So now, I’m up in the midnight hour, doing what I should’ve done in the first place, because the conviction just wouldn’t let me rest, and God won’t let you rest either.

Hear me when I tell you: God’s timing is impeccable and His plans for your life are perfect, but you have got to do your part. If you know your purpose, if you have a platform, if you have something that stirs your spirit and keeps you up at night, do more of that. Some of us are asking God for direction, while sitting in the belly of the fish. Why are you asking for more direction, if you can’t be trusted with the initial one? If you can’t be faithful with little, why would God put more on your plate? If you’re at a place where you feel like God isn’t telling you anything new, like you’ve been in this season for far too long, or like you’ve been praying and waiting but nothing is happening…Consider your initial assignment. Have you done your part or are you still scrolling past what God put in front of you?

– Candace

Leave a Reply

